Iran’s neighbors close their borders due to a growing outbreak of coronavirus in the country

Egypt, Middle East

On Sunday, February 23, Turkey, Pakistan, Armenia, Afghanistan and Georgia temporarily close the border with Iran, where an outbreak of coronavirus was recorded.

To date, 8 deaths from coronavirus have been recorded in Iran.  Because of this, the Minister of Health of Turkey Fahrettin Koka said that any communication with Iran, including automobile, will be terminated from today.

“We decided to temporarily close the border after an increase in the number of cases coronavirus In neighboring Iran,” the minister said.

He added that the decision was made after consultations with the Iranian authorities.

Closed borders with Iran and Pakistan.  The administration of the border province of Balochistan confirmed that the borders with Iran were closed due to the coronavirus.

And Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan said that the government decided to close the border with Iran for two weeks.

Afghanistan ceases ground and air passenger communications with Iran in both directions.

“In order to prevent the spread of the new coronavirus and protect the population, Afghanistan stops all passenger traffic (air and ground ). To and from Iran,” the Afghanistan National Security Council Office said in a statement.

Georgia also announced the suspension of air traffic with Iran.  The government of the country, due to the threat of the spread of coronavirus, also decided to strengthen control at the borders with neighboring states.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *