What 7 Countries Made Up The Arab League Summit?


The 2023 Arab League summit, also known as the 32nd Ordinary Session of the Council of the League of Arab States at the Summit Level, is a meeting of heads of state and government of member states of the League of Arab States. 

Also Read – Arab League summit to take place in Algeria

The summit took place on May 19, 2023, in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. This summit is significant because it marks the return of Syria to the Arab League after its membership was suspended in 2011.

The 2023 Arab League summit brought together all member states, including Syria, and provided a platform for discussions and cooperation among Arab countries on various regional issues.

The league aims to enhance collaboration, safeguard independence and sovereignty, and promote the interests of the Arab world.

Founders of Arab League: 7 Countries Made Up The Arab League Summit

The 7 countries made up the Arab League Summit. The founders of Arab League are following:

  1. Saudi Arabia
  2. Lebanon
  3. Yemen
  4. Emirate of Transjordan
  5. Kingdom of Egypt
  6. Kingdom of Iraq
  7. Second Syrian Republic

Where is the current headquarter of the Arab League?

The Arab League was founded on 22nd March 1945. The official headquarters of the Arab League was the Boustan Palace in Cairo. But Egypt was suspended from the Arab League on 26th March 1979 due to the Egypt–Israel peace treaty. 

The Arab League states restored diplomatic relations with Egypt in 1987. Hence the country rejoined the League in May 1989 and the League’s headquarters were moved back to Cairo in September 1990.

The current headquarter of the Arab League is still in Cairo, Egypt.

Are there 22 Arab countries today based on the Arab League?

The Arab League, officially known as the League of Arab States, is a regional organization consisting of 22 member states from Northern Africa, Western Africa, Eastern Africa, and Western Asia. 

It was established on March 22, 1945, in Cairo with six founding members: Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (now Jordan), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, and Syria. Yemen joined as a member on May 5, 1945.

Each member state has one vote in the Council of the Arab League, and decisions are binding only on states that have voted in favor. 

Over the years, the league has initiated several agreements and joint efforts, including the establishment of a Joint Arab Force in 2015 to counter extremism and other threats in the region.

Participation of Syria In Arab League

The 2023 summit brought together all member states, including Syria, which had been suspended from the Arab League since 2011 due to the Syrian civil war. 

The decision to readmit Syria was agreed upon by the Arab foreign ministers on May 7, 2023. President Bashar al-Assad of Syria received an invitation to attend the summit from a Saudi envoy on May 9, 2023.

What Is The Objective Of The Arab League Summit 2023?

The primary goal of the Arab League is to enhance cooperation and coordination among member states, safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and address common issues and interests. 

However, throughout its history, the league has faced challenges in achieving significant levels of cooperation.

The summit served as a platform for member states to discuss various regional issues, such as political, economic, and social programs, and to mediate disputes among themselves or with other parties. 

Also Read – Arab League summit in Doha, Hamad bin Khalifa’s speech reveals all Qatar’s hypocrisy

The Arab League has played a role in promoting economic integration and has established institutions like the Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO) and the Economic and Social Council to further its objectives.



Ahmed Kane is an entertainment reporter who loves to cover the latest news in the world. He's passionate about bringing people the latest and greatest in entertainment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *